Additional Substances to be Restricted Under RoHS2

On December 17, 2014, the EU Commission notified the World Trade Organization (WTO) of its intentions to restrict four additional substances under the RoHS2 Directive. The four phthalates, Bis (2-ethylhexyl) phthalate (DEHP), Butyl benzyl phthalate (BBP), Dibutyl phthalate (DBP), and Diisobutyl phthalate (DIBP) will be added to the directive in March.

Hexabromocyclododecane (HBCDD), which was recommended for priority review and restriction under Annex 10 or RoHS2 was evaluated but will not be added to the RoHS directive is already restricted under the Persistent Organic Pollutants (PoPs) treaty and has widely exited the market. DIBP was added to the list of restricted substances because it was a common substitute for the other phthalates restricted. The EU Commission chose to restrict DIBP in order to avoid regrettable substitution.

These additional substances for restriction were added following the priority review of additional substances for restriction as stipulated in the RoHS2 Directive. IPC successfully lobbied the EU Parliament not to add additional substances for restriction directly the RoHS Directive, but rather to conduct a scientific evaluation of substances and alternatives. This process was delegated to the EU Commission. IPC will continue to monitor developments surrounding the RoHS Directive.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: