IPC Unveils New IPC Korea Standards Committee

With the support of IPC and the Ministry of Trade, Industry & Energy, the IPC Korea Standards Committee officially opened for business on December 15, 2014. The opening ceremony was hosted by Korea Electronics Technology Association (KETA) in Gumi, South Korea, and boasted a list of 31 attendees, including: LIG Nex1, SAMSUNG Thales, Hanwha, and the Korean Air Force. IPC Korea certification training center provided invaluable support for the launch of the IPC Korea Standards committee.

Specifically, IPC Korea Standards Committee will help its members to develop and revise global standards, educate and train workers, provide technology consultation, hold technology development forums, standardize electronics terminologies in Korean, and hold networking events. This will help establish a collaborative relationship among the government, electronics industry, and academia.

Gun Hyuk Lee of LIG Nex1 was announced as the first chairman of IPC Korea Standards Committee. He expressed his excitement to strengthen Korea’s electronics industry through the development and revision of global standards, with an emphasis on growing the electronics assembly industry. Kwang Wook Lee from Korea Air Force will serve as vice chairman of the committee.

IPC Korea Standards Committee has already established working groups on IPC’s most globally used standards including IPC-A-610 (assembly workmanship), IPC J-STD-001 (soldering), IPC-A-600 (PCB workmanship), IPC-7711/21 (PCB and assembly rework and repair, and IPC-A-620 (wire harness acceptability).

For additional information on the standards committee or to participate, contact David Bergman, IPC vice president of standards, technology and international relations, at +1 847-597-2840 or DavidBergman@ipc.org.


IPC Korea Standards Committee




Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: